Greenberg Center presents 40 student & teacher awards

Art Fishman (far left) and Ed Fishman (far right) with recipients of the 2012 Fishman Family Awards and 2012 Fishman Fellows.

WEST HARTFORD ― The University of Hartford’s Maurice Greenberg Center for Judaic Studies presented 40 student and teacher awards in the largest, single ceremony ever held at the University of Hartford. Held on Thursday, May 3, the ceremony was part of the Center’s 25th anniversary campaign year. More than $40,000 in scholarship awards were presented to local students and teachers for summer and year long studies at the university.

The Award Winners

  • Ramona Puchalski-Piretti of Conard High School received the Korzenik Memorial Holocaust Educator Award made possible by the Chase Family Foundation, for her project entitled “We Must All Bear Witness, a multi-media, digital e-lesson with enormous reach on the internet. The West Hartford teen previously won a 2010 Zola-Rubin Professional Development award and has been a regular at the Greenberg Center workshops.
  • Danelle Egan of Newtown Middle School received the Zola Holocaust Educator Award, made possible by the Zola and Rubin Family, for her project “How Could the Holocaust Happen? A Critical Analysis.”
  • Michael Little, a teacher at Clarksburg Elementary School in Clarksburg, Mass., received the Zola-Rubin Professional Development Grant for his project “The Nature of Blood: The Struggles of Second Generation Holocaust Survivors.” Professional Development Holocaust Educator awards are intended to encourage teaching professionals to do research in order to develop new courses for middle and high school students. Award winners attend the 2012 workshop and begin intensive work on a full project.
  • Rachel Rosenberg, a Judaic Studies major, received the highest academic award given by the Greenberg Center, the Jerome Caplan Memorial Scholar Award for 2012/2013.
  • Joshua Gischner received the Jessica Kostin Memorial Israel Photography Scholarship, given by Dane and Michele Kostin to memory of their daughter Jessica who participated in the Greenberg Center’s summer and winter archaeology programs. In addition, Gischner received the Richard Cardin Research Scholarship from the College of Arts and Sciences for his summer research project in Israel.
  • Kailee Shraiberg was awarded the Dr. Rosalie H. Smith Memorial Israel Scholarship from the Israel Activities Fund at the Greenberg Center, as well as the Steven Konover Arabic Language and Culture Summer Scholarship.
  • Eric Flaman was awarded the Sondra Goldman Memorial Israel Scholarship from the Israel Activities Fund at the Greenberg Center, and the Steven Konover Arabic Language and Culture Summer Scholarship.
  • Emily Galica was awarded the Beatrice Freund Berkowitz Memorial Israel Scholarship and the Simcha and Aaron Dubitzky Scholarship to participate in summer excavations in Israel.
  • Hannah Rosenberg was awarded the Calvin Mass Summer Scholarship in Israel from the Israel Activities Fund at the Greenberg Center.
  • Nani Cherenzia was awarded the Joel and SusAnna Grae Prize in Archaeology, given to a student who presents an innovative project on the Grae Antiquities Collection at the Museum. Cherenzia’s video project is a virtual museum highlighting the Grae’s Antiquities Collection that will be featured on the Greenberg Center’s website.


  • Six University of Hartford students were selected as Fishman Fellows in recognition of their work teaching students at Yachad-Greater Hartford Jewish Community High School this past semester. The Fellows for 2012 are: Shayna Ull, Eric Maurer, Adam Velk, Hanna LaRoc, Elissa Katz, and Samantha Gordon.


Twelve students – from second grade through college level — were selected to receive Fishman Family Awards in American Jewish Life and Culture, a community–wide essay contest on American Jewish heroes. The Bess and Paul Sigel Hebrew Academy Second Grade Class submissions were given a group award. Winners received gift cards.

  • Fourth grade winners included: Moshe Loew, for his essay on Hank Greenberg; and Maia Chameides, for her essay on Harry Houdini.
  • Fifth grade winners included Casey Greenbaum, for her essay on Judy Blume, and Kinneret Hannah Kanik, for her essay on Jacob Neusner.
  • Sixth grade winners included: Evyatar Gedaliah Kanik for his essay on Mickey Marcus, and Nachi Loew for his essay on Uriah P. Levy.
  • Seventh grade winners included: Ora Chaya Halpern, for her essay on Rabba Sara Hurwitz, and Meira Goldfishcher, for her essay on Renee Headings.
  • Eighth grade winners included: Ilan Small, for his essay on Paul Newman, and Esther Schlossberg for her essay on Bella Abzug.
  • The Greenberg Center also announced its scholarship awardees for its majors and minors for the 2012-2013 academic year. Hana LaRock and Elissa Katz received the Louis and Martha Silver elementary education and Judaic Studies Scholarships. The two young women have been very active in teaching and leadership issues both in the local community and on the national scene. This unique program between the Greenberg Center and the College of ENHP in elementary education and Judaic Studies is one of only a handful of integrated programs in the United States.


Fulbright Scholar receives 2009 Wallant Award
B’nai Israel Holds High Holy Days Food Drive
Newington teen attends high school program in Israel

Leave Your Reply