Celebrations Milestones

Wallenberg to receive Congressional Gold Medal

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Both Houses of Congress have approved the Raoul Wallenberg Centennial Celebration Act, in support of bestowing the prestigious Congressional Gold Medal upon Raoul Wallenberg for his heroic mission to save the lives of nearly 100,000 Hungarian Jews during the Holocaust. The award comes in time to honor Wallenberg on the 100th anniversary of his birth in August.
Wallenberg served as Sweden’s special envoy in Budapest during World War II – during which time he issued protective passports and sheltered Jews in buildings designated as Swedish territory. Many prominent American Jews, including the late Congressman Tom Lantos, credit their survival to Wallenberg’s actions.
Other recipients of the Congressional Gold Medal include: George Washington, Thomas Edison, Dr. Jonas Salk, Winston Churchill, Elie Wiesel, Jackie Robinson, Rosa Parks, and Mother Teresa.

Bi-Cultural Day School celebrates 55 years
National Council of Women announced awards

Leave Your Reply